CLC logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CLC Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows

TL;DR
  • NARI does not publicly disclose a CLC pass rate or a numeric passing score, so any quoted percentage is unverified.
  • The exam is 180 multiple-choice questions in 3 hours, taken online with live proctoring.
  • Construction Trades carries 40-45% of the exam, making it the single biggest lever on your result.
  • You get up to three attempts in two years; the first attempt is included in the certification fee.

What the Pass Rate Data Actually Shows (and Doesn't)

If you searched for the Certified Lead Carpenter pass rate hoping for a clean percentage, here is the honest answer: there isn't an official one. The NARI Certification Board administers the CLC exam, and its published materials, including the CLC program manual, the certification exam page, and the CLC credential page, do not state how many candidates pass. They also do not publish a numeric passing score.

That matters because pass-rate numbers circulate widely online, and many are guesses, recycled from other credentials, or pulled from unrelated exams that happen to share the "CLC" acronym. Certified Lead Carpenter is a NARI credential for experienced remodeling carpenters. Statistics attached to any other certification with those initials tell you nothing about this one.

Treat unsourced percentages as noise: If a site quotes a precise CLC pass rate without citing NARI, assume it is fabricated or borrowed from a different credential. The only verifiable facts are the ones NARI publishes: the exam format, the content outline, the fees, the attempt limits, and the eligibility requirements. This article sticks to those.

For a broader look at difficulty without relying on invented statistics, see How Hard Is the CLC Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026. For what is and isn't known about the cut score, see CLC Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.

Why NARI Doesn't Publish a Pass Rate

NARI has not explained its reasoning publicly, so any explanation is inference. Several structural facts about the credential make a headline pass rate less meaningful than it would be for a mass-market exam:

  • Small, self-selected candidate pool. Only people with substantial field experience qualify to sit for the exam at all.
  • Multiple attempts are built in. With up to three attempts allowed in two years, a single-sitting pass rate and an eventual-certification rate would be very different numbers.
  • Undisclosed scoring mechanics. The split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed, which makes outside reverse-engineering of a pass percentage unreliable.
  • Current outline supersedes old materials. The linked content outline dates to July 1, 2019, and current operational pages supersede older paper-test sample language, so historical anecdotes may not describe today's exam.

The practical takeaway: instead of fixating on a number NARI doesn't release, evaluate your readiness against the things that are knowable. That is where the rest of this article focuses.

What You Can Measure Instead

Rather than a population pass rate, a candidate can assess three personal indicators that actually predict an outcome:

  1. Coverage: Can you answer practice questions in every one of the ten content areas, not just the ones you use daily?
  2. Weighted accuracy: Are you strongest where the exam is heaviest, namely Construction Trades?
  3. Stamina and pacing: Can you work through 180 questions in three hours without rushing the final stretch?

You can test all three on our CLC practice test, which lets you see where your accuracy drops by topic before you spend an exam fee. Pair it with the CLC Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt to turn weak spots into a plan.

The Exam Structure Behind the Numbers

Understanding the format helps you interpret any anecdotal "it was hard" or "it was easy" report you read. Here is what NARI publishes:

FeatureCertified Lead Carpenter (CLC)
Administered byNARI Certification Board
FormatOnline, live-proctored; outside vendor not named
Questions180 multiple-choice
Time limit3 hours
Scored vs. unscored splitNot disclosed
Numeric passing scoreNot publicly disclosed
Reference materialsClosed book; scratch paper and pen permitted
CalculatorPermission unverified; confirm with NARI before exam day
Proctoring setupPhone camera plus computer; tablets not allowed
AttemptsUp to three in two years

Three hours for 180 questions works out to an average of one minute per question, which is workable for experienced carpenters on familiar material but tight if you stall on calculation-heavy or code-based items. If you're unsure how scheduling works, see CLC Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.

Don't rely on old test descriptions: Some older sample text describes a four-hour paper test. NARI's current operational pages supersede that. Plan for the online, live-proctored, three-hour version, and verify details on the official certification exam page before booking.

Where the Points Live: Domain Weighting

The exam outline lists ten top-level content areas with approximate percentage ranges. These are official ranges, not fixed weights, so the actual count of questions per area can vary from form to form. One note on terminology: the manual's introductory wording also mentions "20 areas," but that phrase should not be read as twenty independently weighted domains. The ten numbered sections are the framework to study against.

DomainApproximate Weight
Construction Trades40-45%
Plans & Specs10-12%
Jobsite Safety10-12%
Communication & People Skills8-10%
Business Management6-8%
Pre-Construction5-7%
Codes & Law3-5%
Supervision3-5%
Job Site Management3-5%
Quality Control1-2%

The distribution is the most useful "data" available to a candidate. Roughly two-thirds of the exam sits in just three areas: Construction Trades, Plans & Specs, and Jobsite Safety. Nested trade percentages inside Construction Trades are sub-breakdowns of that one domain, not additional top-level domains.

Construction Trades (40-45%)

The heart of the exam. This is where hands-on remodeling knowledge gets tested through multiple-choice scenarios rather than demonstrations.

  • Study the nested trade sub-areas in the program manual and treat each as a mini-topic.
  • Expect questions on how work is sequenced and how materials and methods are selected on remodeling jobs.
  • Don't assume daily experience covers it all; carpenters often know their own specialties deeply and other trades only loosely.

Plans & Specs (10-12%) and Jobsite Safety (10-12%)

Together these add up to roughly a fifth to a quarter of the exam and reward precision.

  • Practice reading plans, details, and specifications and extracting what a lead carpenter must act on.
  • Review safety responsibilities specific to leading a crew on a remodeling jobsite, not just personal PPE habits.

For a deeper walkthrough of every area, read CLC Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 10 Content Areas.

The Screening Effect of Eligibility Requirements

One reason any pass-rate figure should be read cautiously is that CLC candidates are not a random sample of carpenters. To sit for the exam you need five years of continuous remodeling experience, including two years as a lead carpenter. You must also complete the application and meet NARI's ethical requirements. NARI states no mandatory degree and does not specify a fixed training-hour or reference total.

That pre-screening cuts both ways. Candidates arrive with real field knowledge, which helps on Construction Trades. But experience alone isn't the same as exam readiness: the test also covers business management, communication, codes and law, and quality control, areas where a strong tradesperson may have blind spots. The full eligibility picture is in CLC Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.

Key Takeaway

Experienced carpenters usually fail on breadth, not depth. Audit the smaller domains, Business Management, Pre-Construction, Codes & Law, Supervision, and Job Site Management, early, because those topics are least likely to come naturally from daily field work.

Attempt Economics: Fees, Retakes, and the Two-Year Window

The cost structure shapes how you should think about risk. Per NARI's published figures:

ItemMemberNon-Member
Certification fee (includes first attempt)$400$600
Optional prep$295$395
Retake$50
Annual renewal$69$138

The retake fee is modest relative to the certification fee, and you may attempt the exam up to three times within two years. That makes a failed first sitting recoverable, but it is still a cost in time and confidence, and results from a first attempt are only useful if you review what went wrong by domain. Don't treat attempt one as a free practice run; the exam content is closed book and unscored-question patterns aren't visible to you, so it's a poor diagnostic compared with timed practice beforehand.

For a full pricing walkthrough, including the membership math, see CLC Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

A Domain-Weighted Prep Plan

Since the exam weighting is the best data you have, schedule your preparation to match it. This single timeline is built around the CLC outline rather than generic study theory:

Weeks 1-3

Construction Trades First

  • Work through each nested trade area in the program manual.
  • Spend extra time on trades outside your day-to-day specialty.
  • Take topic quizzes on the practice test to find gaps.
Weeks 4-5

Plans & Specs plus Jobsite Safety

  • Practice extracting requirements from plans and specifications.
  • Review lead-carpenter safety responsibilities on remodeling jobs.
Week 6

The Breadth Sweep

  • Cover Communication & People Skills, Business Management, Pre-Construction, Codes & Law, Supervision, Job Site Management, and Quality Control.
  • Make a one-page fact sheet; the CLC Cheat Sheet 2026 is a useful model.
Week 7

Full-Length Simulation

  • Run 180 questions in a single three-hour sitting, closed book, with scratch paper and pen only.
  • Review misses by domain and revisit the heaviest weak areas.

Adjust the pacing to your own schedule; the point is the ordering. Front-load the 40-45% domain, then cover the mid-weight areas, then close every small gap, since even a 1-2% area like Quality Control is easy points if you've seen the material. The full CLC study guide expands on this approach.

After You Pass: Renewal and Who Hires

Passing is the start of an ongoing obligation, not the end. NARI requires annual renewal with five hours of continuing education, specifically five NARI CEUs, plus the renewal fee ($69 for members, $138 for non-members). Budget for this as part of the true cost of holding the credential.

The CLC credential is most relevant to remodeling contractors, design-build firms, and homeowners who look for NARI-certified professionals when hiring lead carpenters or crew leaders. If you're weighing whether the credential pays off for your career, our analyses of whether the CLC certification is worth it and the CLC salary guide go through the earnings and ROI questions without inflated numbers. You can also browse CLC jobs to see how employers talk about the certification.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the CLC pass rate?

NARI does not publicly disclose a pass rate for the Certified Lead Carpenter exam, and it does not publish a numeric passing score either. Any specific percentage you see online without an official NARI source should be treated as unverified.

How many times can I take the CLC exam?

You may attempt the exam up to three times within two years. The certification fee includes the first attempt, and each retake costs $50.

Which domain matters most for passing?

Construction Trades, at an approximate 40-45% of the exam, is by far the largest. Plans & Specs and Jobsite Safety follow at roughly 10-12% each. These percentages are official approximate ranges, not fixed weights.

Is the CLC exam open book?

No. It is closed book, though scratch paper and a pen are permitted. Calculator permission is unverified, so confirm the current policy with NARI before exam day. Proctoring is live online using a phone camera and a computer; tablets are not allowed.

Do I need a degree to take the CLC exam?

No degree is required. You do need five years of continuous remodeling experience, including two years as a lead carpenter, along with the application and ethical requirements. See the CLC requirements guide for details.

Ready to pass your CLC exam?

Put this into practice with free CLC questions across every exam domain.