- How CLC Exam Scheduling Actually Works
- Why There Is No Fixed 2026 Calendar to Memorize
- Eligibility Comes Before Any Date
- Fees, Attempts, and the Two-Year Clock
- What Exam Day Looks Like: Format, Proctoring, and Setup
- Choosing a Date Based on What the Exam Tests
- A Domain-Driven Backward Plan
- The Date That Matters After You Pass: Renewal
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The Certified Lead Carpenter exam is online and live-proctored, so scheduling is driven by your application and readiness, not a published seasonal calendar.
- NARI requires five years of continuous remodeling experience, including two as lead carpenter, before you can sit for the exam.
- The first attempt is included in the $400 member or $600 non-member fee; retakes cost $50, with up to three attempts in two years.
- The exam is 180 multiple-choice questions in a 3-hour limit, and Construction Trades alone is roughly 40-45%.
How CLC Exam Scheduling Actually Works
Candidates searching for "CLC exam dates 2026" usually expect a neat table of testing windows with registration cutoffs, like the seasonal exam windows used by many licensing boards. For the Certified Lead Carpenter credential, that picture is slightly off, and understanding why will save you from waiting on a calendar that may never appear.
The Certified Lead Carpenter (CLC) credential is administered by the National Association of the Remodeling Industry (NARI) through the NARI Certification Board. The exam is delivered online and is live-proctored, which means you are not driving to a testing center on a fixed Saturday in a fixed month. Instead, the process is built around your application being approved and then arranging a proctored session that fits your readiness.
If you are still orienting yourself to the credential, the overview at What Is CLC Certification? covers what the designation represents, and the full prerequisites are laid out in CLC Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
Why There Is No Fixed 2026 Calendar to Memorize
Because the CLC exam is online and live-proctored, the usual date-hunting questions change shape. Rather than asking "which weekend in 2026 is the exam offered," the practical questions become:
- Has my application been approved, and do I meet the experience requirements?
- Have I paid the certification fee that includes my first attempt?
- Do I have a quiet space, a computer, and a phone camera ready for proctoring?
- Am I prepared enough that I won't burn an attempt on a rushed session?
That last question is the one candidates underweight. With a maximum of three attempts in two years, your date is less about the calendar and more about protecting those attempts. A rushed first sitting is the costliest scheduling mistake you can make.
We deliberately do not list invented testing windows or deadlines here. Any specific "2026 window" that is not published on NARI's pages would be speculation, and this site would rather tell you where to verify than hand you a fabricated cutoff date.
| Scheduling Question | What Is Known |
|---|---|
| Delivery method | Online, live-proctored |
| Proctoring equipment | Phone camera plus computer; tablets are not allowed |
| Time limit | 3 hours |
| Question count | 180 multiple-choice questions |
| Attempt limit | Up to three attempts within two years |
| Fixed seasonal windows | Not specified in the source material; confirm with NARI |
Eligibility Comes Before Any Date
The real gate on your timeline is eligibility. NARI requires five years of continuous remodeling experience, including two years as a lead carpenter. You also need to complete the application and meet the ethical requirements. There is no mandatory college degree, and the source material does not state a fixed training-hour total or a required number of references, so don't assume those exist.
This matters for planning because your "exam date" cannot precede your qualification date. If you are at year four of remodeling work, your earliest realistic sitting is tied to when you cross the five-year line and have your lead carpenter time documented. Candidates who are close should use the gap productively rather than waiting passively. The roadmap in CLC Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt is a good way to structure that runway.
Documenting the Lead Carpenter Years
Two of your five years must be as a lead carpenter. If your title history is murky, for example you ran crews informally before holding the title, sort out how to document that experience early. Delays in the application, not the exam itself, are the most common reason a target date slips.
Fees, Attempts, and the Two-Year Clock
The money and the clock are linked, because every attempt either costs you time or money. Here is the fee structure as published:
| Item | NARI Member | Non-Member |
|---|---|---|
| Certification fee (includes first exam attempt) | $400 | $600 |
| Optional exam prep | $295 | $395 |
| Retake | $50 | |
| Annual renewal | $69 | $138 |
Two things stand out. First, the retake fee is small compared with the initial certification fee, so a failed first attempt is financially survivable, but it still burns one of your three attempts. Second, the two-year window means you cannot drift indefinitely: attempts are capped within a two-year period, so a scattered, unplanned approach can run out the clock.
For a full cost picture across membership choices and the prep add-on, see CLC Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown, and for the payoff side of the equation, Is the CLC Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026.
Key Takeaway
Treat your three attempts in two years as a budget, not a safety net. Schedule your first sitting only when practice scores in the heaviest domains are consistently solid, so a retake remains a contingency rather than a plan.
What Exam Day Looks Like: Format, Proctoring, and Setup
Knowing the logistics ahead of time removes a surprising amount of test-day stress. The CLC exam is closed book. Scratch paper and a pen are permitted. Whether a calculator is allowed is not verified in the source material, so do not assume it; confirm directly with NARI before exam day, and practice quantity takeoffs and measurements by hand so you aren't dependent on one.
Live online proctoring uses both a phone camera and your computer, and tablets are not permitted. In practice that means preparing a few things before your session:
- A computer with a reliable internet connection and a working webcam or microphone setup as instructed by the proctor
- A phone positioned to give the proctor the required view of your workspace
- A cleared desk with only the permitted scratch paper and pen
- A quiet room where you will not be interrupted for three hours
The exam is 180 multiple-choice questions in 3 hours, which works out to a little under a minute per question on average. The split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed, so treat every item as if it counts. Pacing matters: a long calculation or a dense plan-reading question can eat time you'll want for the quick code or safety recall items.
Choosing a Date Based on What the Exam Tests
Since there is no seasonal window forcing your hand, the smartest way to pick a date is to work backward from content. The CLC exam is dominated by one domain, and your preparation time should reflect that. The domain percentages below are official approximate ranges, not fixed weights, so expect some variation from one exam form to another.
| Domain | Approximate Range |
|---|---|
| Domain 9: Construction Trades | 40-45% |
| Domain 2: Plans & Specs | 10-12% |
| Domain 5: Jobsite Safety | 10-12% |
| Domain 6: Communication & People Skills | 8-10% |
| Domain 1: Business Management | 6-8% |
| Domain 4: Pre-Construction | 5-7% |
| Domain 3: Codes & Law | 3-5% |
| Domain 7: Supervision | 3-5% |
| Domain 8: Job Site Management | 3-5% |
| Domain 10: Quality Control | 1-2% |
A note on structure: the program manual's introductory wording mentions "20 areas," but that phrase does not mean twenty independently weighted domains. The exported outline has ten numbered top-level sections, and the trade percentages nested inside Construction Trades are part of that 40-45%, not additional top-level domains. The outline NARI links is dated July 1, 2019, so verify against the current manual when you register. For a section-by-section walkthrough, read CLC Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 10 Content Areas.
What That Means for Timing
Because Construction Trades makes up nearly half the exam, a candidate who is strong in framing, finish work, and the other trade areas but weak on, say, Plans & Specs or Jobsite Safety is better positioned than the reverse. But candidates who work primarily in one trade often have lopsided knowledge: deep in their specialty, thin elsewhere. Your date should be set only after you have found and closed those gaps.
Domain 9: Construction Trades (40-45%)
The largest block and the one that rewards broad field experience across the trades a lead carpenter oversees.
- Expect questions spanning multiple trade areas rather than a single specialty
- Prioritize the trades you personally touch least often in your day-to-day work
- Practice calculation-style items by hand, since calculator permission is unverified
Domain 2: Plans & Specs and Domain 5: Jobsite Safety (10-12% each)
Together these two are roughly a fifth of the exam and are highly learnable with focused review.
- Plans & Specs: reading drawings, interpreting specifications, and catching conflicts between documents
- Jobsite Safety: hazard recognition, protective practices, and responsibilities of the person running the crew
If you want a sense of where candidates tend to struggle, How Hard Is the CLC Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026 breaks down the demanding areas.
A Domain-Driven Backward Plan
This is the one place where we'll lay out a study schedule, and it is tied directly to the domain weights above rather than generic advice. The logic: spend the most time where the most points live, front-load the heaviest domain while your energy is highest, and finish with the small but quick-win domains and full-length timed practice.
Construction Trades Deep Dive
- Work through each trade area in the Construction Trades section, starting with the ones you use least
- Build a personal list of materials, methods, and sequencing questions you missed
- Take short quizzes after each trade rather than waiting until the end
Plans & Specs and Jobsite Safety
- Practice reading plan sets and spotting specification conflicts
- Review safety responsibilities from the lead carpenter's point of view
People and Business Domains
- Cover Communication & People Skills, Business Management, and Pre-Construction
- These are scenario-driven; practice choosing the best professional response
Light Domains and Timed Rehearsal
- Skim Codes & Law, Supervision, Job Site Management, and Quality Control
- Complete at least one full 180-question timed run within a 3-hour block
Once your timed practice results are stable, that is your signal to book the proctored session. Use the free question bank on the CLC Exam Prep practice test site to run those timed rehearsals, and keep the CLC Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts handy for the final review days.
The Date That Matters After You Pass: Renewal
The most predictable date in the CLC lifecycle is not the exam, it's your annual renewal. NARI requires five hours of continuing education, expressed as five NARI CEUs, plus a renewal fee of $69 for members or $138 for non-members. Because renewal is annual, it deserves a spot on your calendar the day you earn the credential.
Many certified carpenters let CEUs pile up until the last minute. A better approach is to log a few hours each quarter so renewal never becomes a scramble. For a sense of how the credential connects to employment and pay once you hold it, see CLC Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis and CLC Jobs.
Frequently Asked Questions
The source material does not publish a fixed seasonal calendar. The exam is online and live-proctored, so scheduling follows your approved application and your readiness. Confirm current availability directly on NARI's certification exam page before planning around any specific date.
No. NARI requires five years of continuous remodeling experience, including two years as a lead carpenter, along with the application and ethical requirements. Your earliest possible exam date depends on meeting those prerequisites first.
You can attempt the exam up to three times within two years. The first attempt is included in the certification fee ($400 for NARI members, $600 for non-members), and each retake costs $50.
You need a computer and a phone camera for live proctoring; tablets are not permitted. The exam is closed book with scratch paper and pen allowed. Calculator permission is unverified, so check with NARI and prepare to work calculations by hand.
Schedule it when your timed practice results are consistently solid across the heavily weighted domains, especially Construction Trades at roughly 40-45%. Since attempts are limited within a two-year window, readiness should drive the date. For definitions and background first, start with What Is CLC?.