CLC logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is CLC?

TL;DR
  • CLC means Certified Lead Carpenter, a credential from the National Association of the Remodeling Industry (NARI) Certification Board.
  • Applicants need five continuous years in remodeling, including two as a lead carpenter, plus ethical requirements.
  • The exam is 180 multiple-choice questions, closed book, with a three-hour limit and live online proctoring.
  • Construction Trades covers roughly 40-45% of the content, far more than any other of the ten areas.

CLC Defined: Certified Lead Carpenter

CLC stands for Certified Lead Carpenter. It is a professional credential for experienced remodeling carpenters who run jobsites, direct crews, and make the daily technical and people decisions that determine whether a remodeling project succeeds. The acronym is shared by other unrelated credentials in other fields, so it is worth being precise: everything on this page concerns the carpentry credential offered through NARI, and nothing else.

If you are searching for the plain-language definition, our short explainers cover the same ground from different angles, including what CLC stands for and what CLC certification is. This article goes a level deeper: who earns it, what the test looks like, and what a candidate actually has to know.

The word "lead" matters. This is not an entry-level carpentry badge or a pre-apprenticeship certificate. The credential is aimed at people who already carry responsibility on the job: reading plans, coordinating with homeowners and other trades, keeping the site safe, and making sure the finished work meets quality expectations. The exam reflects that scope, which is why it includes business, communication, and supervision content alongside the building trades themselves.

Who Issues the Credential

The Certified Lead Carpenter credential is administered by the National Association of the Remodeling Industry (NARI) through the NARI Certification Board. NARI is a trade association focused on the residential remodeling sector, so the credential is built around remodeling work in particular rather than ground-up new construction in general. That orientation shows up in the content: client communication, change management, and working within occupied homes are part of the professional picture the exam assumes.

The exam is delivered online with live proctoring. NARI uses an outside testing vendor for this, but the vendor's name is not something we can state with confidence, so confirm the current provider when you register through NARI's official certification pages.

Check the Source Before You Rely on It: NARI's linked exam outline is dated July 1, 2019, and its current operational pages supersede older sample text, including an obsolete four-hour paper-test description. Whenever a study site, forum post, or older PDF conflicts with NARI's current certification and exam pages, trust the current pages.

Who It Is Built For

The credential suits several kinds of carpenters:

  • Working lead carpenters who want a third-party credential that documents what they already do every day.
  • Carpenters moving toward project management or ownership who want a credential that signals trustworthiness to homeowners.
  • Remodeling company employees whose employers value or require certified staff when bidding or marketing.
  • Independent contractors who need a visible marker of professionalism in a market where homeowners struggle to judge quality in advance.

If you are weighing the investment, our analysis of whether the CLC certification is worth it and the CLC salary guide look at the career side in more depth.

Eligibility: Experience, Ethics, and Application

The CLC is an experience-gated credential. According to NARI's published requirements, candidates must have five years of continuous remodeling experience, including two years as a lead carpenter. There is also an application process and ethical requirements that applicants must satisfy. No mandatory college degree is required, and the published materials do not state a fixed number of training hours or a fixed number of references.

This structure tells you something about how the exam is written. Because every candidate already has years of field time, the questions lean on practical judgment and applied knowledge rather than abstract theory. A candidate who has genuinely run jobs will recognize most scenarios; a candidate who has only memorized terminology may struggle to choose between two plausible-sounding answers.

For a full walk-through of qualifying, documenting your experience, and avoiding application mistakes, see our guide to CLC requirements and eligibility.

How the Exam Works

Format at a Glance

FeatureDetails
Question count180 multiple-choice questions
Time limit3 hours
Scored vs. unscored splitNot publicly disclosed
DeliveryOnline, live-proctored
EquipmentComputer plus phone camera; tablets are not permitted
Reference materialsClosed book; scratch paper and pen allowed
CalculatorPermission not verified; confirm with NARI before exam day
AttemptsUp to three within two years
Passing score and pass rateNot publicly disclosed

Three hours for 180 questions works out to an average of one minute per question, which is a brisk but manageable pace for people who know the material. The closed-book rule means you cannot look up code tables or span charts during the test, so the facts and rules of thumb you rely on daily need to be in your head.

Be careful about two things NARI does not publish: a numeric passing score and an official pass rate. Any site quoting a precise cut score or pass percentage for this exam is guessing. We cover what is and is not known in our articles on the CLC passing score and the CLC pass rate.

Proctoring Setup Matters: The live online proctoring uses both your computer and your phone camera, and tablets are not allowed. Test your setup, lighting, and workspace ahead of time so that technical trouble does not eat into your three hours or your composure.

The Ten Content Areas

NARI's exam outline organizes the content into ten numbered top-level sections. The percentages are official approximate ranges, not fixed weights, so the number of questions on any one area can vary somewhat from one exam form to another. One note of caution: the introductory wording of the program manual refers to "20 areas," but that phrase should not be read as 20 independently weighted domains. The ten sections below are the structure that matters for planning.

#Content AreaApproximate Range
1Business Management6-8%
2Plans & Specs10-12%
3Codes & Law3-5%
4Pre-Construction5-7%
5Jobsite Safety10-12%
6Communication & People Skills8-10%
7Supervision3-5%
8Job Site Management3-5%
9Construction Trades40-45%
10Quality Control1-2%

Here is what each cluster means in practice.

Plans & Specs (10-12%)

Lead carpenters translate paper into built work. Expect questions that test whether you can interpret drawings and written specifications and spot conflicts between them.

  • Reading dimensions, notes, and details on plans
  • Understanding how specifications govern materials and methods
  • Recognizing when documents conflict and what to do about it

Jobsite Safety (10-12%)

Safety carries as much weight as plans, and it is a place where field experience pays off directly.

  • Hazard recognition on active remodeling sites
  • Protective equipment and safe tool practices
  • Protecting occupants and the public when working in an occupied home

Communication & People Skills (8-10%)

Remodeling happens inside people's homes, so this area is not filler. It tests how you handle clients, crews, and other trades.

  • Setting expectations and handling change requests
  • Resolving conflict professionally
  • Documenting conversations and decisions

Business Management, Pre-Construction, Supervision, and Job Site Management (combined roughly 17-25%)

These four areas cover the operational side of leading a job: estimating and scheduling concepts, preparing a project before work starts, directing a crew, and keeping the site organized and on track.

  • Sequencing work and coordinating trades
  • Material ordering, storage, and delivery logistics
  • Crew direction, accountability, and productivity

Codes & Law (3-5%) and Quality Control (1-2%)

Small slices of the exam, but easy points if you prepare. Know the basics of permits, inspections, and your responsibilities, and understand how quality is checked and documented before handoff.

For a deeper treatment of each area, read our complete guide to all 10 CLC exam domains.

Why Construction Trades Dominates

The single most important planning fact about this exam is that Construction Trades accounts for roughly 40-45% of the content. That is close to half the test, and it dwarfs every other area. The trade subtopics listed inside this section carry their own percentages in NARI's outline, but those are nested within Construction Trades and are not additional top-level domains. Do not add them to the ten areas above.

Because this section is so large, it also exposes uneven experience. A carpenter who has spent a decade on framing and finish work but little time on, say, exterior envelope details or certain specialty assemblies may find gaps here. The exam asks about the full scope of work a remodeling lead carpenter touches, not just the specialties you personally favor.

Key Takeaway

Audit your Construction Trades knowledge area by area before anything else. Identify the trades you rarely perform, and give those the most time, because that is where a lead carpenter's experience is most likely to be uneven.

Fees, Retakes, and Renewal

The pricing structure has a few moving parts, all from NARI's published materials:

ItemNARI MemberNon-Member
Certification fee (includes first exam attempt)$400$600
Optional prep (not required)$295$395
Retake$50
Annual renewal fee$69$138

The first attempt is bundled into the certification fee, and a retake costs $50. Candidates may attempt the exam up to three times within two years. Because the member and non-member gap is meaningful on the initial fee and again on renewal, it is worth comparing the cost of NARI membership against the savings before you apply. Our CLC certification cost breakdown works through the full picture.

Keeping the Credential Active

The certification is renewed annually. Renewal requires five hours of continuing education, equal to five NARI CEUs, along with the renewal fee. Treat renewal as an ongoing professional habit rather than a surprise chore: spreading the five hours across the year is far easier than scrambling at the deadline.

Who Hires Certified Lead Carpenters

Demand for the credential comes mostly from the residential remodeling sector. Typical places a certified lead carpenter works or sells services include:

  • Remodeling contractors and design-build firms that run whole-home and room-level projects and want credentialed leads in front of clients.
  • Kitchen and bath remodelers where precision, client contact, and coordination across trades are daily realities.
  • Home-service and restoration companies that need lead carpenters who can manage repair and rebuild work.
  • Owner-operators and small contractors who use the credential as a differentiator when homeowners compare bids.

The credential does not guarantee a particular pay level, and we will not invent figures here. Compensation depends on region, employer, and your own scope of responsibility. Our CLC jobs overview and salary guide discuss how to think about earning potential qualitatively.

Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain

You do not need an elaborate method. What you need is an order that matches how the exam is weighted. Here is one sensible sequence for roughly a six-week runway, built around the actual content areas rather than generic habits:

Weeks 1-3

Construction Trades First

  • List every trade within this section and rate your confidence honestly
  • Spend the most time on the trades you perform least often
  • Practice recalling rules of thumb from memory, since the exam is closed book
Week 4

Plans & Specs and Jobsite Safety

  • Work through plan-reading and specification-conflict scenarios
  • Review hazard recognition and occupied-home protection practices
Week 5

People and Operations

  • Cover Communication & People Skills, Business Management, and Pre-Construction
  • Review Supervision and Job Site Management together, since they overlap
Week 6

Small Areas and Full Practice

  • Quickly cover Codes & Law and Quality Control
  • Take timed practice sets that mimic 180 questions in three hours

The reasoning is simple: Construction Trades earns the most time because it carries the most weight and hides the most personal knowledge gaps, while the two smallest areas can be handled late because they represent a small share of the exam. For a fuller plan, see the CLC study guide, and keep the CLC cheat sheet handy for last-minute review. When you are ready to test yourself under realistic conditions, the CLC practice test lets you drill questions by topic and simulate a full sitting.

If you are wondering how demanding all of this will feel, our article on how hard the CLC exam is breaks down where candidates tend to struggle.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does CLC stand for in this context?

CLC stands for Certified Lead Carpenter, a credential from the NARI Certification Board for experienced remodeling carpenters. Other credentials share the acronym, but they are unrelated to this one.

Do I need a degree to qualify?

No degree is required. You need five years of continuous remodeling experience, including two years as a lead carpenter, along with a completed application and agreement to NARI's ethical requirements.

How many questions are on the exam, and how long do I have?

The exam has 180 multiple-choice questions with a three-hour limit. It is closed book, taken online under live proctoring, and scratch paper and a pen are permitted.

What is the passing score?

NARI does not publicly disclose a numeric passing score or pass rate. Be skeptical of any source claiming exact figures, and aim for strong, balanced knowledge across all ten areas, especially Construction Trades.

What happens if I do not pass on the first try?

A retake costs $50, and you may attempt the exam up to three times within two years. Use any feedback and your own recall of weak areas to focus your next round of study.

How do I keep the credential after earning it?

Renew annually by completing five hours of continuing education, equal to five NARI CEUs, and paying the renewal fee: $69 for members or $138 for non-members.

To find out where you stand right now, try the free questions on the CLC Exam Prep practice site, and compare your results against the ten content areas above before you commit to a study schedule.

Ready to pass your CLC exam?

Put this into practice with free CLC questions across every exam domain.